A guideline on gluten-free diet

What is gluten-free diet?

A gluten-free diet is a unique type of diet which is used in the medical treatment of coeliac disease. The purpose of removing the gluten from a person’s diet is to improvise all the symptoms and cure the relevant problems.

Where is Gluten found?

Gluten is mostly found in the following:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Oats
  • Barley

What is allowed in Gluten-free diet and what is not?

Allowed

There are some natural gluten-free food items that can be taken in the daily diet.

For example Fresh/Frozen/Canned fruits and vegetables, meat, eggs, nuts, milk, butter, margarine, vanilla, potato starch flour, real cheese, beans, legumes, plain yogurt, potato starch and gluten-free grains like rice and corn.

There are also some artificial products available in the market labeled as gluten-free.

For example Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin, silicon dioxide, citric acid, malic acid, lactic acid, sucrose, dextrose, lactose.

There are also some gluten-free products which are derived from wheat, rye, barley or oats and can be used widely in different meals. There are some ice cream flavors without gluten-containing add-ins.

Similarly, corn and plain rice in all forms can be used such as corn flour, cornmeal, white/brown/wild/basmati/enriched rice etc.

Other items may include quinoa, flax seeds, millet, soy, arrowroot, sorghum, tapioca, etc.

It also includes vegetable oil such as canola.

Distilled vinegar and alcoholic beverages are also gluten-free.

All of the spices are gluten-free.

Not Allowed

Wheat in all forms is not allowed whether it is durum, einkorn, semolina, cake flour, matzo, couscous, etc.

Barley, malt, malt syrup, malt extract, malt vinegar, etc. are also not allowed.

Rye is also not allowed in any form whether in the form of bread products.

All sauces or marinade that contains gluten is not allowed.

Licorice which is made with wheat flour is not allowed at all.

Maybe allowed or not allowed

Beer is gluten-free if it is made from the gluten-free grains and those beers made from barley is not considered as gluten-free.

Dextrin is sometimes made from wheat and is not considered to be as gluten-free.

All of the favoring items are gluten-free but sometimes may contain wheat or barley in it.

Modified food starch and wheat starch are also gluten-free but if wheat is labeled on the packet then it is not allowed.

Oats are quite safe to use for the gluten-free diet in the form of cereals, cookies, granola bars, etc. but in rare cases may have cross-contamination of barley or wheat in it.

In comparison to real cheese, processed or spray cheese contains gluten in it.

Similarly, seasonings have higher chances of containing gluten in it.

Soy sauce is also fermented from wheat and there are less chances of it being gluten-free.

In order to follow a gluten free diet, it is essential to become aware of all the labeled ingredients and make a habit to always read the label as an expert because in the ingredients may change sometimes in a particular product.

Also, consult an accredited dietician who can provide suitable advice according to your needs.